Latest News

***2022/23 Season***
From September 2022 onwards, Redlands will be open a lot more again. Our timetable will be as follows:
Tues 6pm - 7.30pm = Junior Coaching
Tues 7.30pm - 9.00pm = Open Practise
Thurs 6.30pm - 9.00pm = League Matches & Open Practise
Sat 9.00am - 1.00pm = Open Practise
League Teams will once again be playing from Redlands this coming season, but under the management of Blitz Table Tennis Club. If you are interested in playing in the league at Redlands, please speak to either Jeff or Paul ASAP. Teams need to be finalised within the next couple of weeks.

All set up and ready for this evening's League Presentation of Trophies and Awards.



Divisional Championship Results

At the end of what has been a long season the divisional titles are now confirmed.


Division 1 Champions

Worksop Welfare ‘A’.

Congratulations to the squad: Richard Element and Chris Cattell.


Division 2 Champions

Worksop Harriers ‘X’

Congratulations to the squad: Ian Henderson, Ben Crapper, Mark Bloomer and Mark Cooper


Division 3 Champions

Worksop Harriers ‘B’

Congratulations to the squad: Aziz Saiepour, Neil Fisher, Dave Lyus and Graham Stent


A special mention to Division 1 player Richard Element, Division 2 player Ian Henderson and Division 3 player Aziz Saiepour who end the season with a 100% win record in all league matches played.

League AGM - A Message from the General Secretary
Please note the League’s AGM this year is taking place at Stanley Street Sports and Social Club, Stanley Street, Worksop, S81 7HX
The meeting takes place on Tuesday 14th June and starts at 7:00pm
As per rule 3a in the handbook, each team should send at least one representative
Please see the proposals below for you to consider which will be discussed and voted on at the meeting:
  • Division 1 and 2 teams to return to 3 member teams with Division 3 remaining as Pairs teams
  • All teams in all three divisions to return to 3 member teams
  • All competitions to be held at the beginning or end of the season
  • If the League continues with the Pairs format next season, where clubs have more than one team in the same division, players are allowed to play for another team within their club (1 match per week)
Kind Regards, Neil Penny (General Secretary)

Worksop Masters – Result

Yesterday evening the end of season Worksop Masters Tournament was held showcasing the talent of six of the League’s top players.

In Group A the first match to the table was between Terry Emmerson and Andy Lee. A good opener to the competition saw some excellent play from both players but the Open Singles Champion, Terry, proved to be just too strong and he took the match 3 : 0.

The second Group A Match was between Simon Chatterton and Andy Lee and this was won 3 : O by Simon to set up a decider for the final between Simon and Terry.

Terry took the first game 11:7 before Simon came back with some excellent play to win the next two games 12:10 and 11:9. In the fourth game Terry came back to take it 11:7 to set up a thrilling fifth end. Simon got off to a good start and at the change of ends was 5:3 up and he never looked back taking the game 11:6 to win set and secure his place in the final.

In Group B the first match on the table was between Chris Cattell and Farrel Anthony. Chris played some excellent table tennis and took the match 3:0.

In the second game Farrell bounced back from his defeat by Chris to win a close match against Dave Kelly 3:0 with the third game going to 20:18!

Dave then played Chris and once again there was close competition between both players. Although Chris won the match 3:0 the second and third games were both very close 14:12 and 12:10. Chris’s win secured his place in the final.

The final between Chris and Simon proved to be a very competitive match with both players playing their best table tennis of the night. Simon took the first game 11:6 only for Chris to come back and take the next two 11:6 and 11:7. In the fourth game it was close all the way but Chris just edged it 12:10 to win the match and the title of Worksop Masters Champion.

Congratulations to all six players on providing a very entertaining evening of table tennis for the spectators who attended and, of course, huge congratulations to Chris Cattell on his victory.